URSI er opdelt i 10 faglige kommissioner:

A.  Electromagnetic Metrology

B.  Fields and Waves

C.  Radio Communication and Signal Processing

D.  Electronics and Photonics

E.  Electromagnetic Environment and Interference

F.  Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing

G.  Ionospheric Radio and Propagation

H.  Waves in Plasmas

J.  Radio Astronomy

K.  Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine